What Is The Statute Of Limitations On Back Child Support?
The rules and the regulations that govern child support vary greatly from one state to the next. In addition, the specifics of how child support is determined is often unique to the situation, and is dependant on a variety of factors ranging from the parents’ income level to the specific child custody arrangement that the court has put in place. In addition, there are few federal laws that mandate that child support policies be the same from one state to the next. Even the statute of limitations on back child support can vary greatly from one state to the next.
The statute of limitations on back child support is often relative not to the date that the child support payment was due, but it is instead relative to the date that the last obligation is due. For example, if a parent owes back child support from when a child was six years old, that back support can be collected for many years after the child turns 18. In the state of Michigan, as an example, the statute of limitations on back child support is ten years past the date that the last child support obligation is due. So, using the previous example, the back child support from when the child was six could be collected 22 years later, all the way until the child is 28 years old.
In other states, there is no statute of limitations on back child support. This means that child support will be owed until it is paid in full. California is an example of a state in which there is no statute of limitations on back child support. In some states that do have a statute of limitations, it is possible for the statute of limitations to be extended through legal action. In other states, this is not possible at all, and once the statute of limitations on back child support has ended the obligation to pay the back child support has ended.